WWE Brings Back Slammy Awards For Wrestlemania 40 Weekend, Cody Rhodes and CM Punk Get Multiple Nominations

slammy awards, cody rhodes
Credit: WWE

After a four-year hiatus, WWE announced today they are bringing back the Slammy Awards in 2024.

The Oscars and the Grammy Awards have become some of the most popular awards shows in the entertainment business. However, for long-time pro wrestling fans, the Slammy Awards hold a special place in the hearts and minds of aficionados of the industry. Well, for the first time since 2020, the WWE Awards event will be back during Wrestlemania 40 weekend.

Also Read: Speak your mind about the 2024 Slammy Award nominations on our all-new Fightline forum!

The company announced on Friday that this year’s award show will take place on Sunday, April 7, and air live across WWE’s YouTube channel, Facebook, X, Twitch, and TikTok. The 2024 Slammy Awards will be hosted by Cathy Kelley and Big E and will also feature special appearances from a plethora of WWE superstars.

Fan voting for the Slammy’s has officially opened and will run through Wednesday, March 27. Unsurprisingly, 2023 Royal Rumble winner Cody Rhodes earned the most nominations with four, while Rhea Ripley, Roman Reigns, and CM Punk also earned inclusion in multiple categories. The full rundown of categories and nominations is below.

WWE Slammy Awards 2024 nominations

slammy awards, cm punk

Female Superstar of the Year

Male Superstar of the Year

  • Cody Rhodes
  • Roman Reigns
  • Seth “Freakin” Rollins
  • Gunther
  • Logan Paul

Best Entrance

  • Cody Rhodes
  • Roman Reigns
  • Bianca Belair
  • Seth “Freakin” Rollins
  • Rhea Ripley
  • Becky Lynch
  • The Rock
  • Dominik Mysterio (WrestleMania 39)

Return of the Year

Faction of the Year

  • The Judgment Day
  • Alpha Academy
  • Imperium
  • The Bloodline
  • Damage CTRL

Also Read: Wrestlemania 40 card – Latest rumored card for nights 1 and 2

Rivalry of the Year

  • Seth “Freakin” Rollins vs. Drew McIntyre
  • “Dirty” Dominik Mysterio vs. Rey Mysterio
  • Bianca Belair vs. Damage CTRL
  • Roman Reigns vs. Cody Rhodes
  • R-Truth vs. The Judgment Day

NXT Superstar of the Year

  • Ilja Dragunov
  • Carmelo Hayes
  • Lyra Valkyria
  • Tiffany Stratton
  • Bron Breakker

Match of the Year

  • Bad Bunny vs. Damian Priest – San Juan Street Fight (Backlash 2023)
  • Roman Reigns vs. Sami Zayn (Elimination Chamber 2023)
  • Gunther vs. Chad Gable (Raw 9/4/23)
  • Asuka vs. Bianca Belair vs. Charlotte Flair (SummerSlam 2023)
  • Charlotte Flair vs. Rhea Ripley (WrestleMania 39)

OMG Moment of the Year

  • Rey Mysterio punches “Dirty” Dominik Mysterio (SmackDown 3/24/23)
  • CM Punk returns to WWE (Survivor Series 2023)
  • IYO SKY cashing in the Money in The Bank Contract (SummerSlam 2023)
  • The Rock slaps Cody Rhodes (WrestleMania XL Press Conference)
  • Damage CTRL turns on Bayley (SmackDown 2/2/24)
  • Cody Rhodes slaps The Rock (SmackDown 3/8/24)

Social Star of the Year

  • Grayson Waller
  • Logan Paul
  • Drew McIntyre
  • Chelsea Green
  • Liv Morgan

Breakout Superstar of the Year

After earning his journalism degree in 2017, Jason Burgos served as a contributor to several sites, including MMA Sucka... More about Jason Burgos

Mentioned In This Article::

More About: