Invicta FC 53 Results: New Champion Is Crowned

Invicta FC 53

Invicta FC took place Wednesday night from Reelworks Denver in Denver, Colorado. The event featured an atomweight title match between Jillian DeCoursey and Rayanne Dos Santos.

The fighting ladies of Invicta FC returned for the first time since March with Invicta FC 53 Wednesday night. The event took place from Denver and the Reelworks Denver in Colorado.

Invicta FC sees atomweight title fight

In the main event, Jillian DeCoursey put her atomweight belt on the line against Rayanne Dos Santos.

Dos Santos ended her reign, becoming the latest champion with a convincing one-sided decision win.

The event aired live on AXS TV and streamed on YouTube and Facebook for Invicta FC.

Right from the start, Dos Santos went to work on DeCoursey, busting her open early with vicious ground-and-pound. With the promotion using open scoring, Dos Santos took both the first and second rounds of the fight with ease.

In the third, DeCoursey won a round on one scorecard, but the other two gave it to Dos Santos. It was all Dos Santos in the fourth, as she swept the scores.

DeCoursey captured the belt back in September when she locked up a rear-naked choke on Jessica Delboni. That was her return to the atomweight division after stepping away to fight at Cage Fury Fighting Championships at strawweight.

Olga Rubin with historical submission

In the co-main event of the night, Olga Rubin made history and set social media on fire.

Rubin locked up a buggy choke on Claire Guthrie in the second round. It marked the first such instance of a finish by that move in promotion history.

With the win, Rubin improved to 9-3 overall and 2-1 with Invicta FC. Her lone loss came for the bantamweight title by split decision vs. Taneisha Tennant last year.

The only other finish was the opener, as Ky Bennett stopped Kendal Holowell in the second round.

Jessica Delboni among the other winners

Among those also picking up wins were Jessica Delboni, as she topped Danielle Taylor via decision. Delboni won for the 13th time in her career and fifth with Invicta FC.

Monique Adriane, Elise Pone and Elisandra Ferreira were also winners by decision.

Invicta FC 53: DeCoursey vs. Dos Santos Results

  • Rayanne Dos Santos def. Jillian DeCoursey via unanimous decision
  • Olga Rubin def. Claire Guthrie via submission (buggy choke) at 4:23 of Round 2
  • Jessica Delboni def. Danielle Taylor via unanimous decision
  • Monique Adriane def. Nicole Gerardo via unanimous decision
  • Elise Pone def. Liana Pirosin via unanimous decision
  • Elisandra Ferreira def. Flor Hernandez via unanimous decision
  • Ky Bennett def. Kendal Holowell via TKO (strikes) at 4:04 of Round 2

With over 20 years of experience in journalism, Dana brings an understanding of what it takes to present the... More about Dana Becker

Mentioned In This Article::

More About: