UFC Results: Holly Holm-Mayra Bueno Silva Battle On ESPN


Welcome to another edition of UFC results, as UFC on ESPN 49 (or UFC Vegas 77 if you prefer) took place Saturday night. The event went down live on ESPN and ESPN+ from the Apex just outside of Las Vegas. In the headline bout, former champion Holly Holm battled Mayra Bueno Silva. Now, let us get to the action and all the UFC results from the card.

UFC Results: Mayra Bueno Silva Taps Holly Holm

The emotions took over Mayra Bueno Silva Saturday night as she scored the biggest win of her career.

Bueno Silva locked in a super-tight choke on former champion Holly Holm in the main event of UFC on ESPN 49 in the second round, earning the win live on ESPN. The 31-year-old is now 11-2-1 overall and has won four straight – with the last three coming by way of submission.

She laid on the cage floor of the Octagon for several moments after earning the win and was still feeling the emotions while being interviewed by Daniel Cormier after.

Jack Della Maddalena Survives Scare

It was likely that Jack Della Maddalena didn’t know much about his opponent before Saturday night. That definitely changed after three rounds and 15 minutes with Bassil Hafez.

While Maddalena was able to secure the win vs. the Octagon newcomer, he was put to the test, using his effective striking to earn the split decision and push his win streak to five.

While Hafez was able to end both the first and second rounds in a strong position, the striking of Maddalena was too much. Hafez also had most of his takedown attempts stopped and was tripled-up in terms of strikes landed.

The newcomer, though, definitely showed strong flashes, especially with his ground work and skills grappling.

Nazim Sadykhov Finishes Terrance McKinney

The main card opened with a finish by Nazim Sadykhov, as the lightweight locked in a rear-naked choke on Terrance McKinney. Following five minutes of action to start the bout, it was Sadykhov who gained the upper-hand in round two before locking in the choke.

Norma Dumont ended her brief rivalry with Chelsea Chandler, claiming a decision. Dumont moved to 10-2 overall and won her third straight since a split decision loss to Macy Chiasson last year.

Junyong Park and Francisco Prado made quick work of their opponents. Park submitted Albert Duraev in the second round and Prado finished Ottman Azaitar in the first after landing a spinning back elbow.

The prelims were filled with decisions, as just one fight ended early. And unfortunately for fight fans and Istela Nunes, it was due to injury.

Nunes suffered a broken elbow in her strawweight bout with Viktoriya Dudakova, as the fight was stopped just 34 seconds into the opening round.

Other than that, the remaining six fights all went to the scorecards, including the prelim headline bout between Melsik Baghdasaryan and Tucker Lutz.

After three rounds, it was as close as ever, with Baghdasaryan earning matching 29-28 decisions across the board.

Melquizael Costa, Evan Elder, Azat Maksum, Alexander Munoz and Ailin Perez were all winners. The only split decision among those results belonged to Maksum, as he edged Tyson Nam.

What Is Up Next

The promotion will pack up and head overseas for an event in London, England from The O2 Arena. In the main event, heavyweights Tom Aspinall and Marcin Tybura square off.

All the fights will stream live on ESPN+ with Molly McCann and Julija Stoliarenko in the co-main. Nathaniel Wood-Andre Fili, Paul Craig-Andre Muniz, Jai Herbert-Fares Ziam and Lerone Murphy-Joshua Culibao round out the main card.

On the prelims, Davey Grant, Danny Roberts and Marc Diakiese are set for action.

The event marks the 15th visit to London and the second this year.

UFC Results

Mayra Bueno Silva def. Holly Holm via submission (guillotine choke) at :38 of Round 2

Jack Della Maddalena def. Bassil Hafez via split decision

Francisco Prado def. Ottman Azatiar via TKO (strikes) at 4:45 of Round 1

Junyong Park def. Albert Duraev via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:45 of Round 2

Norman Dumont def. Chelsea Chandler via unanimous decision

Nazim Sadykhov def. Terrance McKinney via submission (rear-naked choke)

Melsik Baghdasaryan def. Tucker Lutz via unanimous decision

Viktoriya Dudakova def. Istela Nunes via TKO (injury) at :34 of Round 1

Melquizael Costa def. Austin Lingo via unanimous decision

Evan Elder def. Genaro Valdez via unanimous decision

Azat Maksum def. Tyson Nam via split decision

Alexander Munoz def. Carl Deaton III via unanimous decision

Ailin Perez def. Ashlee Evans-Smith via unanimous decision

With over 20 years of experience in journalism, Dana brings an understanding of what it takes to present the... More about Dana Becker

Mentioned In This Article::

More About: