Bellator 290: Ryan Bader Sends Fedor Into Retirement

Ryan Bader finished Fedor Emelianenko, sending the legendary fighter into retirement at Bellator 290 Saturday night.

The main card aired live on CBS for the first time, as Bader defended his heavyweight title with a first round finish.

Fedor, who announced plans to retire before the bout, was greeted with a lengthy ovation after. Many of the MMA greats of years past were in attendance including Randy Couture, Chuck Liddell, Quinton “Rampage” Jackson, Dan Henderson, Royce Gracie, Matt Hughes and Chael Sonnen.

In the co-main event, Johnny Eblen defended his middleweight title with a decision victory over Anatoly Tokov. The main card from Kia Forum in California kicked off with Brennan Ward upsetting Sabah Homsai with a head-kick finish in the second round.

Lorenz Larkin, Henry Corrales, Chris Gonazlez and Neiman Gracie were among the prelim winners for the night.

Bellator 290 Results

#C-Ryan Bader (31-7) defeatedÔÇ»#3-Fedor Emelianenko (40-7) via TKO (punches) at 2:30 of round one

#C-Johnny Eblen (13-0) defeated Anatoly Tokov (31-3) via unanimous decision (50-45, 49-46, 49-46)

Brennan Ward (16-6) defeated #8-Sabah Homasi (17-11) via TKO (strikes) at 1:34 of round two

Yusuf Karakaya (2-0) defeated Ethan Hughes (3-1) via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Isaiah Hokit (3-1) defeated Peter Ishiguro (2-2) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Jaylon Bates (7-0) defeated Jornel Lugo (8-2) via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

#7-Neiman Gracie (12-4) defeated Dante Schiro (9-5) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

#8-Lorenz Larkin (25-7) defeated Mukhamed Berkhamov (14-1, 1 NC) via KO (elbow) at 1:41 of round one

Henry Corrales (21-6) defeated Akhmed Magomedov (10-2, 1 NC) via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

#5-Steve Mowry (10-0-1, 1 NC) and Ali Isaev (9-0-1) fought to a unanimous draw (28-28, 28-28, 28-28)

Chris Gonzalez (8-1) defeated Max Rohskopf (7-3) via TKO (punches) at 1:22 of round two

#6-Grant Neal (8-1) defeated #T9-Karl Albrektsson (13-4) via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Diana Avsaragova (6-0) defeated Alejandra Lara (9-7) via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Nikita Mikhailov (10-2) defeated Darrion Caldwell (15-7) via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

With over 20 years of experience in journalism, Dana brings an understanding of what it takes to present the... More about Dana Becker

Mentioned In This Article::

More About: