Bellator 285 Results: Benson Henderson, Yoel Romero With Wins

Benson Henderson and Yoel Romero picked up key wins Friday at Bellator 285.

Henderson scored a decision over Peter Queally in the main event from Dublin, Ireland. The card aired live on Showtime from the 3Arena.

For the former UFC champion, this was the first of his final four fights on his contract.

“After five rounds against Peter Queally, I’ve got to say hats off to Peter Queally,” Henderson said. “He is a true testament to the Irish people. The man’s all class; a gentleman through and through. Hats off to Peter and hats off to the Dublin fans.

“You guys are cray cray, man. Great night, great energy, great vibes. Place was off the roof once again. It was awesome. Great environment. Crowd was cheering at the end. I loved it.”

Romero scored a knockout vs. Melvin Manhoef in the third round. Manhoef had announced plans to retire prior to the fight, and stayed true to his decision after.

“I had good preparation for this fight,” Romero said. “I had a full camp already because this fight was supposed to take place in Paris. I respect all of my opponents and he was no exception to this. I did everything I had to do for somebody like Melvin, of his calibre.”

Bellator 285 Results

#3-Benson Henderson (30-11) defeated #7-Peter Queally (13-7-1) via unanimous decision (49-45, 49-45, 49-45)

#7-Yoel Romero (15-6) defeated #9-Melvin Manhoef (32-16-1, 2 NC) via KO at 3:34 of round three

#5-Leah McCourt (7-2) defeated #7-Dayana Silva (10-8) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

#5-Pedro Carvalho (13-6) defeated #3-Mads Burnell (16-5) via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Ciaran Clarke (6-0) defeated Rafael Hudson (5-4) via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:50 of round three

Karl Moore (10-2) defeated #6-Karl Albrektsson (13-4) via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:36 of round two

Brian Moore (15-9) defeated Arivaldo Lima da Silva (19-10-2, 2 NC) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Brett Johns (19-3) defeated Jordan Winski (12-4) via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)

Darragh Kelly (2-0) defeated Kye Stevens (3-2, 1 NC) via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)

Kane Mousah (14-4) defeated Georgi Karakhanyan (31-14-2) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Kenny Mokhonoana (4-0) defeated Alex Bodnar (4-2) via submission (guillotine choke) at 2:42 of round one

Asael Adjoudj (4-1) defeated Jordan Barton (7-3) via TKO (strikes) at 2:39 of round one

Luca Poclit (7-1) defeated Dante Schiro (9-4) via submission (arm-triangle choke) at 4:31 of round two

With over 20 years of experience in journalism, Dana brings an understanding of what it takes to present the... More about Dana Becker

Mentioned In This Article::

More About: