UFC 268 Results: Kamaru Usman, Rose Namajunas Defend Titles

UFC 268

The UFC returned to Madison Square Garden for UFC 268 Saturday night.

Kamaru Usman saw his finish streak end but remained UFC welterweight champion.

In the main event, Usman held back the challenge of Colby Covington, improving to 2-0 vs. his rival. It also marked his fifth title defense since claiming the belt.

Usman nearly finished the fight in the second round, dropping Covington with a series of punches. Covington, though, battled back, using his pressure. 

In a tight co-main event, Rose Namajunas defended her strawweight title over Weili Zhang. 

Namajunas earned two of the three scorecards to best the former champion for a second time. 

Former champion Frankie Edgar suffered a third round knockout loss when Marlon Vera caught him. In a back-and-forth contest, Vera landed with a front-kick that planted Edgar.

Ever the competitor, “The Answer” appealed the stoppage, but the ref held firm. 

Shane Burgos downed Billy Quarantillo via decision and Justin Gaethje topped Michael Chandler by the same.

Gaethje and Chandler opened the main card, exciting fans with 15 minutes of intense action.

On the televised prelims, Alex Pereira made his debut a memorable one. Pereira, who topped Israel Adesanya in kickboxing, stopped Andreas Michailidis. 

Bobby Green downed Al Iaquinta, Chris Curtis upset Phil Hawes and Nassourdine Imavov finished Edmen Shahbazyan. 

Ian Garry, Chris Barnett, Dustin Jacoby, Melsik Baghdasaryan and Ode Osbourne were also winners.

UFC 268 Results

Kamaru Usman def. Colby Covington via unanimous decision to remain UFC welterweight champion

Rose Namajunas def. Weili Zhang via split decision to remain UFC strawweight champion

Marlon Vera def. Frankie Edgar via KO (front kick) at 3:50 of Round 3

Shane Burgos def. Billy Quarantillo via unanimous decision

Justin Gaethje def. Michael Chandler via unanimous decision

Alex Pereira def. Andreas Michailidis via TKO (flying knee) at :18 of Round 2

Bobby Green def. Al Iaquinta via TKO (strikes) at 2:25 of Round 1

Chris Curtis def. Phil Hawes via TKO (strikes) at 4:27 of Round 1

Nassourdine Imavov def. Edmen Shahbazyan via TKO (strikes) at 4:42 of Round 2

Ian Garry def. Jordan Williams via KO (strike) at 4:59 of Round 1

Chris Barnett def. Gian Villante via TKO (spinning wheel kick) at 2:23 of Round 2

Dustin Jacoby def. John Allan via unanimous decision

Melsik Baghdasaryan def. Bruno Souza via unanimous decision

Ode Osbourne def. CJ Vergara via unanimous decision