PFL Championship Results: Kayla Harrison, Ray Cooper III Score Wins


The biggest night in MMA took place Wednesday as PFL Championships went down.

Airing live on ESPN2 and ESPN Networks around the globe, six million-dollar winners were crowned in six different weight classes.

In the main event, Kayla Harrison remained unbeaten, finishing off Taylor Guardado for her second women’s lightweight crown.

After using her exceptional skills to weaken Guardado, Harrison locked in an armbar for the submission in the second round.

Ray Cooper III earned another welterweight title, finishing Magomed Magomedkerimov in the third round. The bout was a meeting of the past two tournament winners in the weight class.

In a featured attraction, Abigail Montes pulled an upset on Claressa Shields, earning a split decision. The bout was the second MMA fight for Shields, a multi-division boxing world champion and Olympic gold medalist.

The main card opened with Movlid Khaybulaev besting Chris Wade via decision at featherweight. Bruno Cappelozza followed with a decision over Ante Delija at heavyweight.

“Tonight marked the thrilling finale of the third PFL season in which six fighters earned $1 million dollars a piece. I couldn’t be prouder of the athletes and our team for delivering an innovative and unique product for MMA fans around the world,” said Peter Murray, PFL CEO. “The PFL is a meritocracy where fighters are given the opportunity to prove their worth and create a legacy. I’m incredibly excited for the future of our organization.” 

Antonio Carlos Junior claimed the light heavyweight title with a submission victory over Marthin Hamlet. Raush Manfio was the first to cash in, topping Raush Loik Radzhabov for the lightweight prize.

Julia Budd, a recent addition to the roster, made her promotional debut with a decision victory over Katilin Young. Jordan Young downed Omari Akhmedov and Don Made topped Nate Williams.

The event was the biggest night ever in MMA with 10 fighters ranked in the Top-20 worldwide competing. The 2021 PFL season was a tremendous success with fans as there was 100% audience increase for the fastest growing sports league in the world.

PFL Championship Results

Kayla Harrison def. Taylor Guadado by 2nd round submission (4:00)

Ray Cooper III def. Magomed Magomedkerimov by 3rd round KO (3:02)

Abigail Montes def. Claressa Shields by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Bruno Cappelozza def. Ante Delija (49-45, 48-46, 49-45)

Movlid Khaybulaev def. Chris Wade by unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 50-45)

Antonio Carlos Jr. def. Marthin Hamlet by 1st round submission (3:49) 

Raush Manfio def. Loik Radzhabov by unanimous decision (48-46, 49-46, 48-46)

Jordan Young def. Omari Akhmedov by 3rd round TKO (1:32)

Julia Budd def. Kaitlin Young by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Don Madge def. Nate Williams by 2nd round submission (2:15)


With over 20 years of experience in journalism, Dana brings an understanding of what it takes to present the... More about Dana Becker

Mentioned In This Article::

More About: