UFC Fight Night 175 Results: Aleksandar Rakic Tops Anthony Smith


The final event of August turned into a little bit of a mix-and-match but UFC Fight Night 175, or UFC on ESPN+: Smith vs. Rakic, still went down Saturday.

The card took place from the UFC Apex in Las Vegas, airing on both ESPN and ESPN+.

After a string of finishes, the night concluded with six consecutive decisions including in the headline bout.

Aleksandar Rakic continued his run in the light heavyweight division, dominating Anthony Smith over three rounds.

Rakic improved to 13-2 including a 5-1 mark with the UFC. His lone loss came against Volkan Oezdemir and was a split decision. 

Smith dropped his second straight to fall to 33-16 overall.

In the co-main event, Neil Magny scored a one-sided decision over former UFC welterweight champion Robbie Lawler.

For the 33-year-old Magny, it marked his 24th career win and third straight since a 2018 loss. He is 5-1 over his last six. Lawler suffered a fourth consecutive defeat with three coming via decision.

Alexa Grasso downed Ji Yeon Kim and Ricardo Lamas picked up a decision over Bill Algeo.

In the prelim main, Impa Kasanganay and Maki Pitolo went the distance with Kasanganay claiming victory.

Middleweight veterans Zak Cummings and Alessio Di Chirico were the first to go the distance. Cummings, who planted Di Chrico as the final bell sounded, earned a decision.

Four consecutive finishes came by submission on the prelims. 

Alex Caceres made quick work of Austin Springer, earning a first round victory with a rear-naked choke. Sean Brady submitted Christian Aguilera in the second and Polyana Viana forced Emily Whitmire to tap in just under two minutes.

Mallory Martin kicked off the prelims with a second round submission over Hannah Cifers. Martin locked in a rear-naked choke for her first Octagon win.

UFC Fight Night: Smith Vs. Rakic Results

Aleksandar Rakic def. Anthony Smith via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

Neil Magny def. Robbie Lawler via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Alexa Grasso def. Ji Yeon Kim via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Ricardo Lamas def. Bill Algeo via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-27)

Impa Kasanganay def. Maki Pitolo via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Zak Cummings def. Alessio Di Chirico via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Alex Caceres def. Austin Springer via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:38 of Round 1

Sean Brady def. Christian Aguilera via technical submission (guillotine choke) at 1:47 of Round 2

Polyana Viana def. Emily Whitmire via submission (armbar) at 1:53 of Round 1

Mallory Martin def. Hannah Cifers via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:33 of Round 2


With over 20 years of experience in journalism, Dana brings an understanding of what it takes to present the... More about Dana Becker

Mentioned In This Article::

More About: