UFC 239 Results: Jon Jones Escapes, Amanda Nunes Thrills

UFC 239

Jon Jones barely walked out of UFC 239 as the UFC light heavyweight champion Saturday night.

Jones claimed a split decision victory over Thiago Santos in the main event from Las Vegas’ T-Mobile Arena. Two scores were in favor of “Bones,” 48-47, with the third going the way of Santos.

The bout featured plenty of key moments for both Jones and Santos, with Santos battling through an obvious leg injury to complete the five-round, 25-minute battle with “Bones.”

Ronda Rousey, Cris Cyborg and Holly Holm are three of the biggest names in female combat sports. And Amanda Nunes now holds stoppage victories over all three.

Nunes, who first claimed UFC gold with a victory over Miesha Tate, knocked out Holm in the co-main event to secure her standing atop the list of all-time great fighters. Nunes, also the UFC featherweight champion, landed with a head-kick in the first round.

In a bout that had more build than substance, Jorge Masvidal made history, knocking out Ben Askren in five seconds. Masvidal landed with a right-knee just as Askren was coming in for a likely takedown.

Luke Rockhold’s light heavyweight debut was forgettable as Jan Blachowicz finished him in the second round. Michael Chiesa earned a convincing decision victory over Diego Sanchez to begin the pay-per-view main card.

On the ESPN prelims, Arnold Allen claimed a decision victory vs. Gilbert Melendez, Marlon Vera earned a submission, Claudia Gadelha topped Randa Markos and Yadong Song knocked out Alejandro Perez.

The UFC Fight Pass prelims featured wins by Edmen Shahbazyan, Chance Rencountre and Julia Avila.

Complete UFC 239 results can be found below:

Jon Jones def. Thiago Santos via split decision (48-47, 47-48, 48-47) to remain UFC light heavyweight champion

Amanda Nunes def. Holly Holm via KO (head-kick) at 4:10 of Round 1 to remain UFC female bantamweight champion

Jorge Masvidal def. Ben Askren via KO (flying knee) at :05 of Round 1

Jan Blachowicz def. Luke Rockhold via KO (strike) at 1:39 of Round 2

Michael Chiesa def. Diego Sanchez via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)

Arnold Allen def. Gilbert Melendez via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Marlon Vera def. Nohelin Hernandez via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:25 of Round 2

Claudia Gadelha def. Randa Markos via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Yadong Song def. Alejandro Perez via KO (strike) at 2:04 of Round 1

Edmen Shahbazyan def. Jack Marshman via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:12 of Round 1

Chance Rencountre def. Ismail Naurdiev via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-28, 30-27)

Julia Avila def. Pannie Kianzad via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26, 30-26)

With over 20 years of experience in journalism, Dana brings an understanding of what it takes to present the... More about Dana Becker

Mentioned In This Article::

More About: