UFC Ottawa: Derek Brunson Returns to The Win Column

Derek Brunson ended a two-fight losing skid at UFC Ottawa tonight, by outscoring Elias Theodorou at UFC Ottawa.

Theodorou came out with a lot of movement and throwing kicks. Approximately one minute in, however, Brunson took him down and in a follow-up scramble, took Theodorou’s back. The latter defended a choke attempt and worked his way up-and-out. Theodorou returned to firing kicks often as Brunson pressed forward.

Brunson came out hunting for a takedown in round two, but Theodorou was able to keep the bout up. A couple of minutes in, boos started to ring out, due to a lack of substantive action. Brunson started throwing more kicks as the rounded winded down, and he countered Theodorou nicely with a hard left. 

In round three, Brunson looked for an early takedown again, but was unable to complete it. Moments later, Brunson clinched up and swept Theodorou to the floor, but the latter quickly popped up. Brunson scored with another TD seconds later, but once again, Theodorou returned to his feet. Just after the two-minute mark, Brunson picked Theodorou up and slammed him hard to the mat, but Theodorou worked his way up and out once more. 

After the final horn, Brunson was handed the UD win.

Here are the results so far for UFC Otttawa.

Derek Brunson def. Elias Theodorou via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Shane Burgos def. Cub Swanson via split decision (30-27, 27-30, 29-28)

Merab Dvalishvili def. Brad Katona via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Walt Harris def. Sergey Spivak via TKO (punches & knees) R1, 0:50

Andrew Sanchez def. Marc-Andre Barriault via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Macy Chiasson def. Sarah Moras via TKO (punches) R2, 2:22

Vince Morales def. Aiemann Zahabi via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Nordine Taleb def. Kyle Prepolec via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Matt Sayles def. Kyle Nelson via submission (arm-triangle-choke) R3, 3:16

Arjan Bhullar def. Juan Adams via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Cole Smith def. Mitch Gagnon via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)