UFC 236 Results: Dustin Poirier, Israel Adesanya Claim Titles

UFC 236

Dustin Poirier became the new interim UFC lightweight champion, holding off featherweight titleholder Max Holloway in the main event of UFC 236 Saturday night.

The event took place from Atlanta.

Poirier earned a decision by scores of 49-46 over “Blessed,” improving to 2-0 all-time against the Hawaiian.

Israel Adesanya earned his first UFC title, becoming the interim middleweight champion with a convincing decision win over Kelvin Gastelum in the co-main event.

The 29-year-old Adesanya improved to 17-0 in his career, adding Gastelum to a resume that also includes former UFC champion Anderson Silva, Derek Brunson and Brad Tavares.

While Khalil Rountree Jr. walked out the winner, Eryk Anders gained several levels of respect. Rountree picked Anders to pieces for three rounds, scoring a sweep of the scorecards, 30-26.

Anders, though, a former Alabama football player, managed to continue to fight on despite being battered with powerful leg kicks by Rountree.

In a welterweight contest, Dwight Grant pulled off a split decision over Alan Jouban. Grant scored two scorecards 29-28, with Jouban earning a 30-27 in the other.

Nikita Krylov opened the pay-per-view main card with a second round submission over Ovince Saint Preux. Krylov locked in a rear-naked choke at 2:30 to force the stop and avenge a 2014 submission loss to Saint Preux.

Khalid Taha kicked off the ESPN prelims in thrilling fashion, knocking out Boston Salmon in just 25 seconds. Max Griffin followed up with a majority decision over Zelim Imadaev and Alexandre Pantoja finished Wilson Reis in just under three minutes.

Matt Frevola topped Jalin Turner via decision in the prelim main event. The Serra-Longo trained Frevola is now 7-1-1 in his career.

On the early UFC Fight Pass prelims, Belal Muhammad scored a decision over Curtis Millender, Montel Jackson topped Andre Soukhamthath, Poliana Botelho bested Lauren Mueller and Brandon Davis submitted Randy Costa in the second round.

UFC 236 marked the first pay-per-view for the promotion to stream solely on ESPN+ as part of a new agreement that runs through 2025.

Below are complete results from the event:

Dustin Poirier def. Max Holloway via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46) to become interim UFC lightweight champion

Israel Adesanya def. Kelvin Gastelum via unanimous decision (48-46, 48-46, 48-46) to become interim UFC middleweight champion

Khalil Rountree Jr. def. Eryk Anders via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)

Dwight Grant def. Alan Jouban via split decision (29-28, 27-30, 29-28)

Nikita Krylov def. Ovince Saint Preux via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:30 of Round 2

Matt Frevola def. Jalin Turner via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Alexandre Pantoja def. Wilson Reis via TKO (strikes) at 2:58 of Round 1

Max Griffin def. Zelim Imadaev via majority decision (29-27, 29-27, 28-28)

Khalid Taha def. Boston Salmon via TKO (strikes) at :25 of Round 1

Belal Muhammad def. Curtis Millender via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 30-26)

Montel Jackson def. Andre Soukhamthath via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27, 29-27)

Poliana Potelho def. Lauren Mueller via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Brandon Davis def. Randy Costa via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:12 of Round 2

With over 20 years of experience in journalism, Dana brings an understanding of what it takes to present the... More about Dana Becker

Mentioned In This Article::

More About: