UFC 231: Valentina Shevchenko Remains Undefeated Against Joanna Jedrzejczyk, Takes The 125 Title

Valentina Shevchenko had defeated Joanna Jedrzejczyk three times before under kickboxing rules, and she did so again at UFC 231 to win the vacant flyweight title.

After some uneventful striking exchanges, Shevchenko swept Jedrzejczyk to the floor, but the former strawweight champ eventually got back to her feet. Before the round ended, Shevchenko landed a nice spinning back-kick to the body of Jedrzejczyk.

Jedrzejczyk came out pressuring in round two, but Shevchenko responded with some solid counters. Later in the round, Shevchenko took Jedrzejczyk down to the floor again. As Jedrzejczyk attempted to back up right before the round ended, Shevchenko scored with a knee to the face.

Jedrzejczyk continued to move forward in round three, but once again, she was met with a spinning back-kick to the body. Despite the countering game of Shevchenko, however, Jedrzejczyk still moved forward behind a steady stream of strikes. Once again, as the round neared its end, Shevchenko planted a knee to the head of Jedrzejczyk along the cage.

In round four, Jedrzejczyk maintained her pace and sat down more on her punches. But, Shevchenko eventually swept her to the floor once more. Jedrzejczyk got back to her feet, however, and eventually resumed moving forward.

Jedrzejczyk still looked to be the fresher fighter in round five, while Shevchenko looked to counter with takedowns and clinch work early on. Both women threatened with spinning techniques late in the final round, and a spinning elbow from Shevchenko appeared to land.

After the final horn, the bout and the flyweight title was awarded to Shevchenko via unanimous decision.

Here are the results so far for UFC 231, which is taking place in Toronto, Ontario.

Valentina Shevchenko def. Joanna Jedrzejczyk via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46)

Gunnar Nelson def. Alex Oliveira via submission (rear-naked-choke) R2, 4:17

Hakeem Dawodu def. Kyle Bochniak via split decision (28-29, 30-27, 30-27)

Thiago Santos def. Jimi Manuwa via KO (punches) R2, 0:41

Nina Ansaroff def. Claudia Gadelha via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28

Gilbert Burns def. Olivier Aubin-Mercier via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Jessica Eye def. Katlyn Chookagian via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Elias Theodorou def. Eryk Anders via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Brad Katona def. Matthew Lopez via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Dhiego Lima def. Chad Laprise via KO (punch) R1, 1:37

Diego Ferreira def. Kyle Nelson via TKO (strikes) R2, 1:23

Aleksandar Rakic def. Devin Clark via TKO (strikes) R1, 4:05

Mentioned This Article

More About: