UFC Fight Night 138 Results: Anthony Smith Submits Volkan Oezdemir

Anthony Smith’s run up the light heavyweight division ladder continued Saturday night, as Smith scored a submission victory over former title contender Volkan Oezdemir in the main event of UFC Fight Night 138.

The card took place from the Avenir Centre in Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada, with bouts airing live on UFC Fight Pass, FOX Sports 1 and FOX Sports 2.

Smith, who has scored victories over former UFC champions Mauricio “Shogun” Rua and Rashad Evans, locked in a rear-naked choke late in the third round, forcing Oezdemir to tap.

In the co-main event, Michael Johnson earned a decision over Artem Lobov after replacing Zubaira Tukhugov on late notice. Tukhugov was pulled due to his involvement in the UFC 229 melee featuring Khabib Nurmagomedov and Conor McGregor.

Misha Cirkunov scored a submission over Patrick Cummins, with Andre Soukhamthath, Gian Villante and Court McGee rounding out the main card with decisions.

Sean Strickland, Nasrat Haqparast, Calvin Kattar, Talita Bernardo, Don Madge, Arjan Bhullar and Stevie Ray all picked up victories on the prelims. Smith and Oezdemir was awarded “Fight of the Night” honors, with Smith and Madge also earning “Performance of the Night” bonuses.

UFC Fight Night 138: Volkan vs. Smith Results

Anthony Smith def. Volkan Oezdemir via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:26 of Round 3

Michael Johnson def. Artem Lobov via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Misha Cirkunov def. Patrick Cummins via submssion (arm-triangle choke) at 2:40 of Round 1

Andre Soukhamthath def. Jonathan Martinez via unanimous decision (30-26, 29-28, 29-28)

Gian Villante def. Ed Herman via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Court McGee def. Alex Garcia via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-28)

Sean Strickland def. Nordine Taleb via TKO (strikes) at 3:10 of Round 2

Nasrat Haqparast def. Thibault Gouti via unanimous decision (29-27, 29-28, 30-26)

Calvin Kattar def. Chris Fishgold via TKO (strikes) at 4:11 of Round 1

Talita Bernardo def. Sarah Moras via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Don Madge def. Te’Jovan Edwards via KO (head-kick) at :14 of Round 2

Arjan Bhullar def. Marcelo Golm via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-27)

Stevie Ray def. Jessin Ayari via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)